Fine Arts Faculty

Donya Allison

Donya Allison joined the Burroughs fine arts faculty in 2000. In addition to teaching Painting and Drawing, Advanced Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, 7th and 8th grade Foundation Program and Intensive Studies, she is director of the Bonsack and Kuehner Galleries, curator of the school's fine art collection and a senior class faculty sponsor. Donya is also a Drey Land faculty member and the immediate past chair of the Faculty Executive Committee. She earned a bachelor of fine arts degree from the Herron School of Art and a master of fine arts degree from Louisiana State University.

Mike Gesiakowski

Mike joined the Fine Arts department in 2016, having previously taught at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville and Kishwaukee College in Malta, IL. He received his MFA from SIU-E, where he was the recipient of numerous awards including the David C. Huntley Founder’s Award along with the Martha Holden Graduate Award in Ceramics and the John and Kay Kendall Ceramics Award. Mike served as artist-in-residence at the prestigious Archie Bray Foundation in Montana as a Wingate Scholar, where he helped to build an Anagama kiln. He also served as an apprentice to Simon Levin (Mill Creek Pottery) in Wisconsin where he built a Catenary Train kiln. Mike’s work is exhibited and sold nationally and is included in numerous permanent collections.

Anne Martin

Anne Martin joined the Burroughs faculty in 1983. She is the Fine Arts Chair, holder of  the Fred Dreher-Joanna Collins Chair, landscape consultant, web mistress for Fine Arts, teacher of 7th and 8th grade Foundation Program, Sculpture, Advanced Sculpture, Intensive Studies and is the Bonsack Gallery assistant.

She holds a BFA and an MFA from Fontbonne University with post-graduate study from Washington University and graduate study from Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, MD and study at the Academia de Belle Arti, Florence, Italy. She exhibits her work nationally and is represented by galleries in Dallas and Sun Valley.

Prior to coming to Burroughs, Ms. Martin taught at Fontbonne University, St Louis Public Schools, University of Arkansas and in Grenada, West Indies.

Andrew Newman

Andrew Newman has been a member of the Burroughs Fine Art Department since 1992. His primary responsibility is teaching Photography I, Photography II and Independent Study Photography. Andrew also serves as the official school photographer. In addition to his primary faculty responsibility, Andrew is the Coordinator of Student Activities, Sponsor of the Student Congress, Sponsor of The World (student newspaper), co-Sponsor of the Model United Nations program, and Advisor. Andrew currently serves on the Faculty Diversity Committee, attends the 7th grade orientation program at Drey Land in the fall and attends The Hague International Model United Nations Program (THIMUN) in January where he is a member of the Advisory Board to the THIMUN Foundation and coordinates the MUNITY press team.

Outside of Burroughs Andrew has a photography business, shooting dozens of weddings and social events a year.

Andrew received his B.A. at Vanderbilt University and his M.A. at Washington University in St. Louis.

Last fall Andrew made his second trip to Doha, Qatar to lecture on journalism and photography at the Qatar Leadership Conference sponsored by Northwestern University, Georgetown University and the Qatar Foundation.

Ashley Oates

Ashley Oates joined the John Burroughs School faculty in 2017. She has a BFA from Memphis Collage of Art, and an MFA from University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. She currently teaches Painting and Drawing, Advanced Painting and Drawing, 7th and 8th grade Foundation Program, Photography and Printmaking.